My Culinary Skills vs. Pinterest

Pinterest is full of delicious looking food. I’ve filled a board creatively titled ‘dinners’ with ideas for new things to try, we’ve given several a shot. Some results were more acceptable than others. Here are our test kitchen opinions:

1. Roasted Chickpeas (image from pinterest, recipe here)

When she says ‘dry thoroughly’ dry them thoroughly. otherwise they’ll be crunchy like a corn-nut on the outside and mushy inside. Overall a pretty healthy yummy snack. I didn’t follow this recipe too closely; probably a bad idea but it wasn’t disastrous.

2. Crock-pot Ravioli (image from pinterest, recipe here)

Okay, so I didn’t follow this recipe at all. More like I followed the spirit of the recipe. I dumped a bag of frozen ravioli in the crockpot with a jar of Ragu and called it good, cooked on low for 5-6 hours. Jake loved it; it’s a little too ‘nursing home lunch’/soggy noodle for me. Next time we’ll follow the recipe.

3. Tex-Mex Rice & Bean Casserole (image from pinterest, recipe here)

DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe loosely; adding kidney beans and omitting the sour cream as i forgot to pick some up. Jake likes it as a casserole while I prefer to eat it as more of a dip or nacho like thing.  The second time we added the sour cream and it was even better; creamier and more like a casserole.

4. Crock-pot Chicken and Stuffing (image from pinterest, recipe here)

I followed this recipe VERY closely (well I did sub plain Greek yogurt for sour cream – which I hear is a totally acceptable practice) and my dinner did not look like the pin…at all. Instead I came home to this:

IMG1315

IMG1314We made it 2 bites in and decided to give up and order pizza. No idea what went wrong here, it smelled scrumptious but the flavor didn’t match and the texture was…crispy AND mushy.  Not for us.

Have you tried any new recipes lately?

Share your thoughts!

