Jessica’s Guidelines for Better Living

I haven't read her blog through yet but I'm gonna start!

There’s something horrible about the word Resolution in my opinion. So committed and firm. It’s truly no wonder to me why I rarely encounter a person who has carried theirs out. Which is why I call mine “Guidelines for Better Living”. It’s all in the phrasing.

GUIDELINES: much less resolute or finite, gentler if you will.
FOR: the articulation of purpose; these guidelines are intended to be used.
BETTER LIVING: Shifting the focus off the ‘rule’ or commitment and on to the desired result.

In my brain it sounds less intimidating. This becomes easy to carry out because it takes me somewhere, while allowing me to make the decisions as they come. The first year I implemented the phrase change I carried out every one of my guidelines. Paying off credit card debt once and for all and significantly paying down a student loan. Every month the bills came in as did my paycheck. I chose each week whether to set aside and extra 10, 15, or 20 or spend it on other stuff. I had the power and control. It wasn’t begrudgingly done because I knew where that decision would take me…toward better living.

Here’s what my Guidelines for Better Living in 2014 look like:

Read 14 books –I’m a terribly slow reader and I truly hate non-fiction. In 2014 I’ll be taking it up a step from 2012 and complete at least 1 piece of non-fiction.

Daily MeditationOn scripture, God, and the good things in my life.

Become Healthier –I kinda hate having this on here because this seems like one everyone does but…I’ve not been treating my body well lately AND I’m THIRTY ALREADY! which is really REALLY intimidating!

Climb a 14er –In Colorado there are around 58 mountain peaks exceeding 14,000 feet, locally they’re referred to as 14ers and EVERYONE climbs them like they’re hills in Kansas. I hear things like “I took a 14er on Saturday and revamped my basement on Sunday” This year I’m going to tackle one of these peaks.

Be More Kind –In 2014 I will let kindness win. I’ve got a container full of stationary and an arsenal of kind acts I will be spreading at least once a week.

Notice how each of these are measurable? I can count 14 books. Measuring a daily task is easy peasy. I can check one nice deed off a list once a week. Calculable. As for becoming healthier, if I tackle the 14er without passing out or having a heart attack, I think that will be proof I’m much healthier than I am today!

Each one moving me toward a better life.

Did you make any resolutions (or ‘Guidelines for better Living’)? What were they and how are they coming along?

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Jessica’s Guidelines for Better Living

  1. […] I’d like to say Jake & I finished strong but I don’t think bent in half, dragging our feet, whining about a possible aneurysm (me) and feeling pain in the knees (Jake) could be called a strong finish. Instead I’ll say we finished with pride. Proud that we did get off the sofa, proud we took steps in the right direction and proud we were making strides in meeting our 2014 guidelines for better living. […]

  2. […] we were able to dig into our Guidelines for Better Living […]

  3. […] Jessica’s Guidelines for Better Living […]

Share your thoughts!

