Eat Pray Love

Right after our move during the long wonderful days of unemployment I read Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. It made book 5 of 12 for this year’s Guidelines for Better Living. I was astonished. As a person who believes in God, his divine and loving nature this book floored me. Here’s the Publisher’s synopsis:

This beautifully written, heartfelt memoir touched a nerve among both readers and reviewers. Elizabeth Gilbert tells how she made the difficult choice to leave behind all the trappings of modern American success (marriage, house in the country, career) and find, instead, what she truly wanted from life. Setting out for a year to study three different aspects of her nature amid three different cultures, Gilbert explored the art of pleasure in Italy and the art of devotion in India, and then a balance between the two on the Indonesian island of Bali.

Gilbert’s opening pages make me feel as though I’m sitting in a coffee shop with my long returning bestie. Her writing style resonated with me just as much as her journey to enlightenment, love, and self-awareness did. I HIGHLY recommend this book. It also was a tremendous conversation starter, I’d share something from it with Jake and we could talk for hours about the globe, our faith, food, strange things women do for themselves, and marriage.

 

Have you read it? What’s your take?

(Yes–it was made into a movie; yes we watched it–we’ll share our thoughts on it later–Promise.)

Tagged

One thought on “Eat Pray Love

  1. Alison D. says:

    I also loved this book I agree with you about the conversational style being important. What an amazing adventure to go on!

Share your thoughts!

