High Altitude Baking

I officially hate baking in high altitude. My cookies are flat and greasy. My muffins are flat and gooey. The only thing that’s turned out decently was boxed brownies.

Boo.

Turns out I’ve got to adjust the amount butter, size of eggs, oven temp, the number of times the dough is beaten, and basically the direction the earth spins on. And that changes daily because of the varying humidity which is rare and pressure which apparently changes daily too!

I did whip up one perfect batch, noted the changes and made a second one exactly like it a week later only to have them turn out like sweet chippy Frisbees. Oh, don’t get me wrong, they’re delicious–just not perfect anymore.

Tagged

Share your thoughts!

