Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West

 image

 

Weeks and weeks ago I finished Gregory Maguire’s book “Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West”. Longest title of anything I’ve read this year. It’s book 4 of 12 as a part of my 2012’s Guidelines for Better living. Harper Collins summarizes with:

Gregory Maguire creates a fantasy world so rich and vivid that we will never look at Oz the same way again. Wicked is about a land where animals talk and strive to be treated like first-class citizens, Munchkinlanders seek the comfort of middle-class stability, and the Tin Man becomes a victim of domestic violence. And then there is the little green-skinned girl named Elphaba, who will grow up to become the infamous Wicked Witch of the West, a smart, prickly, and misunderstood creature who challenges all our preconceived notions about the nature of good and evil.

I selected this book primarily due to my invitation to see the Broadway musical. Again one of those ‘read it before you see it’ kind of situations. I won’t say much about the book other than it’s a fantasy and I don’t prefer fantasy. I have issues imagining far away lands and creatures like unicorns and fairies. However I pushed through and enjoyed the basic plot of Gregory Maguire’s novel.

Tagged

Share your thoughts!

