Catching my breath

I am not a runner. I’ve tried and believe me, it’s ugly. Every few years someone comes into my life and they’re convinced I can run and I let them coerce me into trying. A few strides in it’s empowering. Two more strides in and my entire chest cavity is burning. I’ve never made it three additional strides without vomiting.

I told you, it’s ug-ah-lee.

That said I am acutely aware of the need to physically catch my breath. I know how desperate for ‘a breather’ feels. The need to stop and grab a minute, even a second, to breathe. I also know what’s it’s like to be too busy for my own good. More often that not there’s too much stuff going on, too many things to accomplish, too many items on my daily to-do list that I refuse to catch my breath.

Maybe that’s why when I read these words yesterday morning I was reassured

True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction.

From today forward I plan to remember this passage (Psalm 23.3). Take a second, chill, gain some perspective and move along the right track.

Ironically I read this post yesterday morning also. Hmmm. Perhaps I need to practice being in the moment.

Share your thoughts!

