Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life

I just finished Amy Krouse Rosenthal’s book Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life. It is stupendous.

It’s a fun and quick read that made for an excellent book to kick off the #1Guideline  for Better Living in 2012.

Amy has a way of making the mundane bits of everyday life become extraordinary. From Contesting a parking ticket on the grounds of Karma (page 155-160) to listing noises that are quiet but become blaringly loud (pg 49-50)–I would like to add a snoring puggle at 4am to that table.

She tells of experiences during childhood, work, and parenting. After reading this book I feel as though I made a new BFF. I thought “Meee too!” nearly every 3rd page and let out an audible chuckle several times.

I suggest you read it. Every one of you. In fact I’d even loan it to you: email me! jliston582 {at} gmail {dot} com and we’ll work something out.

2 thoughts on “Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life

  1. ten21ten says:

    Julie, I’m glad to hear you’ll be reading it! My vote is on the Kindle. It’s not really a shelf-life kinda book. However it is definitely one to loan out to a friend who’s sick or needing a pick-me-up…apparently I’m a bit conflicted 😀

  2. Julie says:

    Sounds wonderful! I will read…is this a good book to download to my Kindle, or would you recommend that I purchase a hard copy to retain forever?

Share your thoughts!

