Empanadas

Finished EmpanadasI’m not a real ‘lets take forever to make dinner’ kinda gal. HA! The first time I cooked for Jake I whipped up Bertoli, a bagged salad and passed it off as complete ‘from scratch’.  Now he knows too much to be fooled by my shenanigans. So you can imagine we have a pretty basic meal rotation, this recipe (if you can even call it that) shows up frequently.

Salsa chicken – about a cup or so
(Salsa Chicken is just that: chicken & salsa that’s been tossed in the crock-pot for at least 4 hours then we shred it)
Biscuits, pizza dough, croissant, pie crust; any dough works well
Shredded Cheese
Empanadas Step 1

Flatten the dough (we used biscuits here).

Empanadas Step 3Throw some salsa chicken on top & sprinkle with cheese

Empanadas Step 4Top with dough and bake at 350 for…meh…until the dough looks done…maybe 10-15 mins?

DELICIOUS!!! super yum with cheese dip and chips. It’s filling and pretty cost effective – I have a tendency to stock up on the rolls, pizza crusts, pie dough, when they’re on sale. They say you cant freeze them but I do…I’m a rebel like that. To be really honest it’s even tastier and cheaper with homemade dough but someone tossed my bread-maker (yes, it was burning all our breads and only kneaded when it felt like it…but STILL!) and without it I’m lost in the dough making process.

Do you have a recipe that’s in your rotation more frequently than others?

2 thoughts on “Empanadas

  1. ten21ten says:

    MOM – Let us know how you like it!

  2. MOM says:

    I am going to use this receipe!

Share your thoughts!